Sanctions and counter-sanctions

Back to All Thought Leadership

Sanctions and counter-sanctions due to the ongoing crisis in Ukraine

EU sanctions (per April 9, 2022)

Since Russia’s invasion of Crimea and Sevastopol on 25 February 2014, Russia, the federal bank of Russia, Russian financial institutions, including five banks, and Russian individuals have been subject to sanctions.

On 21 February 2022, the EU decided to extend these sanctions in relation to five members of the Russian Duma. The sanctions against Russia have since been extended on 23 February by a decision of the Council. The new sanctions include:

  • Sanctions against 27 high-ranking actors who are considered to have played a significant role in the conflict.
  • Sanction against all 351 of the Russian parliament who voted to name Donetsk and Luhansk as separate states.
  • Trade restrictions on the Donetisk and Luhansk regions, such as bans on imports and exports of goods in the regions, restrictions on trade and tourism.
  • Restrictions on the availability of EU capital and financial services aimed at Russia and the federal bank of Russia.

At the Extraordinary Meeting of the Council of Europe on 24 February 2022, it was decided to include President Putin and his Minister of Foreign Affairs Lavrov, and members of the Security Council on the list of persons with frozen assets and travel bans and to impose additional sanctions.

Read more

Sign In

[login_form] Lost Password