EU sanctions in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine

Back to All Thought Leadership

Since February 2022, the EU has adopted six packages of sanctions in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. The EU has also adopted sanctions against Belarus in response to its involvement. These sanctions are in addition to those already applying to Russia since 2014 and to Belarus since 2006.

Regarding Russia, the EU has imposed different types of sanctions, in essence through a set of regulations amending Regulation (EU) 269/2014 concerning restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine as well as Regulation (EU) 833/2014 concerning restrictive measures in view of Russia’s actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine, which contain sanctions already in place against Russia since 2014.

The 2022 sanctions include restrictive measures against designated natural or legal persons (i.e. travel bans, asset freezes, and prohibitions to make funds or economic resources available), economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy (e.g. financial sector, media, luxury goods, iron and steel), and restrictions on economic relations with certain territories, including the non-government-controlled areas of Donetsk and Luhansk.

Read more

Sign In

[login_form] Lost Password