The Migratory Statute of the Andean Community Enters Into Force

Back to All Thought Leadership

Leonardo Reyes – Associate

On May 12, the Andean Community countries decided to approve the Andean Migratory Statute, which regulates the community right of movement and establishes temporary and permanent residence for Andean citizens and their families, as well as permanent extra-community residents in Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru.

Here are what we consider the most relevant points of the Statute:

– The Member Countries recognize that no person will be subject to criminal sanctions due to their immigration status. All immigration offenses will be administrative in nature.

– Family members who do not hold the nationality of one of the Member Countries will be issued a residence with the same validity as that owned by the person of whom they depend.

– Andean citizens with Andean Permanent Residence granted under the Statute will have the right, in accordance with the internal regulations of each Member Country, to vote.

Read more

Sign In

[login_form] Lost Password